To improve your website experience Blockpit stores first- and third-party cookies on your device. By clicking on "Accept cookies", you accept this usage. For more information please read our Privacy Policy

Cryptocurrencies and taxes in Switzerland


The tax treatment of cryptocurrencies raises some questions. Do profits from trading with Bitcoin & co. have to be taxed in Switzerland? Are there any taxes on profits from mining, trading, master nodes and airdops etc.? Are there trades that remain tax-free in Switzerland? What calculation methods are permitted in Switzerland?
On this information page you will find answers to the taxation of cryptocurrencies in Switzerland. The most important cantons with regard to cryptocurrencies were selected for this purpose.

General crypto tax situation in Switzerland


Each canton publishes its own regulations regarding cryptocurrencies and taxes. Tax rates vary from one canton to another canton. At the cantonal tax level, the cantons are free to set their own tax rates. We have information on the taxation of cryptocurrencies in the cantons of Zurich, Berne, Lucerne, Zug and Basel.

Taxation of cryptocurrencies in the canton of Zurich


In the following, the tax cantons are explained individually, beginning with the Canton of Zurich. Cryptocurrencies are digital units of account that can serve as means of payment and capital investment. Credit balances in cryptocurrencies are subject to wealth tax (§ 38 StG). Capital gains from movable private assets are tax-free (§ 16 para. 3 StG) and capital losses are irrelevant for tax purposes. However, it is advisable to record these transactions and to be able to produce proof of origin in the case of such transactions (e.g. also to banks). Detailed information on the taxation of digital currencies in the Canton of Zurich can be found in our free and more than 50 page crypto tax guide.

Taxation of cryptocurrencies in the canton of Berne


he second major important canton in Switzerland is Bern. Cryptocurrencies are subject to property tax (Art. 46 para. 1 StG). As with other private assets, the valuation is based on the market value as at 31 December. Here, the year-end price is used. According to the trading platform which was used. For the ten best-known cryptocurrencies - such as Bitcoin, Ethereum and Litecoin - the Federal Tax Administration (FTA) publishes official tax values that correspond to the average of various trading platforms. Information on the subject of taxes on cryptocurrencies in private assets, business assets and income and wealth tax in the Canton of Berne can be found in detail in our Kryptosteuerguide.

Taxation of cryptocurrencies in the canton of Lucerne


In the canton of Lucerne, cryptocurrencies are also subject to wealth tax (§ 43 Para. 1 StG). Cryptocurrencies are executed as other assets for reasons of procedural economy and contrary to the property law qualification in the list of assets and securities. In order to achieve a favourable tax result, you should be able to present a complete report on your transactions when submitting your tax return . With Blockpit you can create a tax report. More information about taxation of cryptocurrencies can be found in our crypto tax guide.

Taxation of cryptocurrencies in the canton of Zug


As the home of the crypto valley, Zug is predestined to attract many crypto enthusiasts. In the tax return, cryptocurrencies are declared as valuables and movable items. According to § 38 Paragraph 1 StG, cryptocurrencies are subject to wealth tax at the year-end rate together with other assets (bank balances, securities, vehicles, real estate). The Blockpit platform helps you to automatically document profits and losses from trades. You can find out how price gains and losses as well as commercial trading in cryptocurrencies are declared in the Canton of Zug in our crypto tax guide.

Taxation of cryptocurrencies in the canton of Basel


For the most common virtual currencies, the Swiss Federal Tax Administration (FTA) publishes an official market value as an average of various trading platforms. There is also a difference in the declaration of movable private assets/capital gains and movable business assets in the canton of Basel. In the Blockpit platform you can automatically record all trades and generate a tax report in a few minutes, which is helpful for a favourable tax result. More detailed information can also be found in our blog article. A distinction must also be made between income from self-employment and income from paid employment in the Canton of Basel. More information can be found in our free crypto tax guide.

01The Blockpit platform

All your trades in one clear dashboard

Cryptocurrencies & taxation are complex and hard to grasp issues, therefore our focus is on making the platform easy to use, as well as providing great usability. As cryptocurrency-tax.info clearly shows, filing taxes for cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin, Ethereum and co. concerns investors and traders just as much as government bodies and corporations. Our partner network consisting of certified tax advisors provides the added value of not having to rely on a black box when calculating crypto tax profits, but instead being able to rely on a certified, compliant report. Correctly file your cryptocurrency taxes and stay on the safe side with officially validated tax documentation.
Blockpit-tax calculation and portfolio tracking

Cryptocurrency portfolio tracking and tax filing made easy

Let Blockpit do the work for you

Steuern auf Bitcoin und Co. in Schweiz

Infos zur Versteuerung von Kryptowährungen

Kryptowährungen und Steuern in der Schweiz

In der Praxis wirft die steuerliche Behandlung von Kryptowährungen manche Fragen auf. Müssen Gewinne aus dem Handel mit Bitcoin & Co. versteuert werden? Fallen Steuern auf Gewinne aus Mining, Trading, Masternodes und Airdops und Co. an? Gibt es Trades, die in der Schweiz steuerfrei bleiben? Welche Berechnungsmethoden sind in der Schweiz erlaubt?
Auf dieser Infoseite finden Sie Antworten auf die Versteuerung von Kryptowährungen in der Schweiz. Dafür wurden die wichtigsten Kantone in Bezug auf Kryptowährungen ausgewählt.

Das Bundesministerium für Finanzen äußerte sich erstmals am 25.07.2017 zur steuerlichen Behandlung von Kryptowährungen. Diese Klarstellungen enthalten Informationen zur steuerlichen Beurteilung von Vorgängen wie „Mining“ sowie der Bewertung von Kryptowährungen bzw. deren Besteuerung im Privat- und Betriebsvermögen.

Allgemeine Situation in der Schweiz

Grundsätzlich veröffentlicht jeder Kanton seine eigenen Regelungen bezüglich Kryptowährungen und Steuern. Die Steuersätze variieren je nach Kanton. Auf Ebene der Kantonsteuer sind die Kantone in der Gestaltung ihrer Steuertarife frei. Wir haben Informationen über die Versteuerung von Kryptowährungen im Kanton Zürich, Kanton Bern, Kanton Luzern, Kanton Zug und Kanton Basel.

Versteuerung von Kryptowährungen im Kanton Zürich

Nachfolgend werden die steuerrechtlichen Kantone einzeln erläutert beginnend beim Kanton Zürich. Kryptowährungen sind digitale Rechnungseinheiten, die als Zahlungsmittel und Kaptialanlage dienen können. Guthaben in Kryptowährungen unterliegen der Vermögenssteuer (§ 38 StG). Kapitalgewinne aus beweglichem Privatvermögen sind steuerfrei (§ 16 Abs. 3 StG) und Kapitalverluste sind steuerlich unbeachtlich. Es empfiehlt sich jedoch diese Transaktionen aufzuzeichnen und im Falle (z.B. auch Banken gegenüber als Herkunftsnachweis) vorweisen zu können. Detaillierte Informationen über die Versteuerung von digitalen Währungen im Kanton Zürich finden Sie in unserem kostenlosen und über 50 seitigen Kryptosteuerguide.

Versteuerung von Kryptowährungen im Kanton Bern

Der zweite wichtige Kanton in der Schweiz ist Bern. Kryptowährungen unterliegen der Vermögenssteuer (Art. 46 Abs. 1 StG). Wie beim übrigen Privatvermögen ist für die Bewertung der Verkehrswert per Stichtag 31. Dezember maßgebend. Hierbei ist auf den Jahresendkurs gemäß der verwendeten Handelsplattform abzustellen. Für die zehn bekanntesten Kryptowährungen – wie Bitcoin, Ethereum und Litecoin – publiziert die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (ESTV) offizielle Steuerwerte, die dem Durchschnitt verschiedener Handels- plattformen entsprechen. Informationen zur Thematik Steuern auf Kryptowährungen im Privatvermögen, Geschäftsvermögen sowie die Einkommens- und Vermögenssteuer im Kanton Bern finden Sie ausführlich in unserem Kryptosteuerguide.

Versteuerung von Kryptowährungen im Kanton Luzern

Auch im Kanton Luzern unterliegen Kryptowährungen der Vermögenssteuer (§ 43 Abs. 1 StG). Auszuführen sind Kryptowährungen aus verfahrensökonomischen Gründen und entgegen der sachenrechtlichen Qualifikation im Guthaben- und Wertschriftenverzeichnis als übrige Guthaben. Um ein günstiges Steuerergebnis zu erreichen, sollten Sie bei der Steuererklärung einen vollständigen Report über Ihre Transaktionen vorweisen können. Mit Blockpit können Sie einen Steuerbericht erstellen. Mehr Informationen zur Versteuerung von Kryptowährugnen finden Sie im Kryptosteuerguide.

Versteuerung von Kryptowährungen im Kanton Zug

Als Heimat des Krypto-Valleys ist Zug prädestiniert dafür viele Kryptointeressierte anzuziehen. In der Steuererklärung werden Kryptowährungen als bewertbare und bewegliche Sache deklariert. Kryptowährungen unterliegen gemäß § 38 Abs. 1 StG zum Jahresendkurs zusammen mit den übrigen Vermögenswerten (Bankguthaben, Wertschriften, Fahrzeuge, Immobilien) der Vermögenssteuer. Die Blockpit-Plattform hilft Ihnen dabei, Gewinne und Verluste aus Trades automatisch zu dokumentieren. Wie Kursgewinne und -verluste sowie der gewerbsmäßiger Handel mit Kryptowährungen im Kanton Zug deklariert ist finden Sie im Kryptosteuerguide.

Versteuerung von Kryptowährungen im Kanton Basel

Verluste aus Spekulationsgeschäften können nur innerhalb dieser Einkunftsart gegengerechnet werden.

Für die gängigsten virtuellen Währungen publiziert die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (ESTV) einen offiziellen Kurswert als Durchschnitt von verschiedenen Handelsplattformen. Zudem gibt es im Kanton Basel einen Unterschied bei der Deklaration von beweglichem Privatvermögen/Kapitalgewinn und beweglichem Geschäftsvermögen. In der Blockpit-Plattform können Sie alle Trades automatisiert aufzeichnen und in wenigen Minuten einen Steuerbericht erstellen, der für ein günstiges Steuerergebnis hilfreich ist. Genauere Informationen können auch in unserem Blogbeitrag nachgelesen werden. Auch bei Einkünften aus selbstständiger und unselbstständiger Erwerbstätigkeit muss im Kanton Basel unterschieden werden. Mehr Informationen finden Sie im kostenlosen Kryptosteuerguide.

Die Blockpit-Plattform

Alle Trades in einem übersichtlichen Dashboard

Kryptowährungen & Steuern sind eine oft schwer verständliche und komplizierte Thematik, daher liegt unser Fokus auf einer einfachen Bedienbarkeit sowie klaren Usability der Plattform. Die Versteuerung von Kryptos wie Bitcoin, Ethereum und Co. betrifft, wie man mittels cryptocurrency-tax.info sehen kann, nicht nur Investoren und Trader, sondern mittlerweile auch staatliche Institutionen und Firmen. Unser Partnernetzwerk mit zugelassenen Steuerberatern im Hintergrund liefert den Mehrwert, sich bei der Berechnung von Kryptosteuergewinnen nicht auf eine Blackbox ohne Garantie verlassen zu müssen, sondern auf einen offiziellen Bericht zurückgreifen zu können. Versteuern Sie ab jetzt Ihre Kryptowährungen richtig und bleiben Sie dank unserem geprüften Steuerbericht auf der richtigen Seite.

dashboard en

Mit Blockpit Portfolio und Steuern im Überblick behalten

Wir helfen bei der Berechnung von Steuern auf Bitcoin, Ether, Dash und Co.